Academic Advisement Center

Contact/Position

E-Mail

Phone

Major Responsibilities

Sabra Broome,
Undergraduate Advisor
shall@westga.edu 678.839.6052 Advisor for early childhood education (last names E-J), physical education (last names A-I), speech-language pathology (last names A-H), and sport management (last names A-J)
Tammy Collins Richardson,
Undergraduate Advisor
richardt@westga.edu 678.839.6054 Advisor for early childhood education (last names R-Z), middle grades education (last names J-Z), secondary education (last names M-Z), and special education (last names K-Z)
Kim Rajczyk,
Undergraduate Advisor
krajczyk@westga.edu 678.839.6051 Advisor for early childhood education (last names K-Q), physical education (last names J-Z), speech-language pathology (last names I-Z), and sport management (last names K-Z)
Elaine Heath-Ward, Undergraduate Advisor eheath@westga.edu 678.839.6055 Advisor for early childhood education (last names A-D), middle grades education (last names A-I), secondary education (last names A-L), and special education (last names A-J)
Lynn Wilkinson,
Staff Assistant
lwilkins@westga.edu 678.839.6050 Assist students and the advisors
Bethany Schmelzer, Undergraduate Advisor bschmelz@westga.edu 678.839.5539 Advisor for Georgia Highlands early childhood education, and initial certification programs in early childhood education, middle grades education, and secondary education

 

Back to top

Child Development Center

Contact/Position

E-Mail

Phone

Major Responsibilities

Rachael Robinson,
Director of the Child Development Center
rrobinso@westga.edu 678.839.5534 State funded four year old early childhood program under coordination of the Dept. of Curriculum & Instruction
Joy Park,
Administrative Assistant
jpark@westga.edu 678.839.5534  

 

Back to top

The Dean's Office

Hours: Monday - Thursday 8:00am - 5:30 pm
  Friday - 8:00 am - 5:00 pm

Contact/Position

E-Mail

Phone

Major Responsibilities

 
Dean of the College
Kim K. Metcalf,
Dean
kmetcalf@westga.edu 678.839.6570 COE Personnel, Budget, Policies & Procedures, NCATE, BOR, PSC
Charla Campbell
Executive Associate
charlac@westga.edu 678.839.5522 Faculty Paperwork, Dean's Schedule, COE Events
Margaret Parrish,
Department Assistant - Associate
parrishm@westga.edu 678-839-6570 Client Services, COE Scholarships, Convocation, Marketing Committee and Doctoral Program Assistant
 
P-16, School Collaboration
Director of P-16 and School Collaboration kmetcalf@westga.edu 678.839.6570 West Georgia P-16, UWG Collaborative School Programs
 
Budget
Donna Curvin,
Business Operations Specialist
dhollis@westga.edu 678.839.6107 Budget Analyst, Budget Reports and Management, Travel, Inventory
Stephanie Siegel, Department Assistant - Intermediate ssiegel@westga.edu 678.839.6104 Purchasing, Accounting, Budget Support, Inventory
 
Teacher Education and Professional Programs
Dianne Hoff,
Associate Dean
dhoff@westga.edu 678.839.6570 NCATE, PSC, Certification, Scheduling, Catalogs, Appeals
Kathy Jones,
Educational Program Specialist
kjones@westga.edu 678.839.6109 Certification, NCATE, PSC, Title II Data Collection & Support
Becky Hart,
Department Assistant - Senior
rhart@westga.edu 678.839.6103 HOPE/PROMISE Scholarships, Course Scheduling, Facilities Scheduling, Student Issues
 
Field Experiences, NCATE Candidate Files, Student Appeals
Scott Butler
Director
sbutler@westga.edu 678-839-6179 Field Placement and Criminal background check policies, procedures and issues; Partner School relationships
Helen Chambers,
Degree Program Specialist
hchamber@westga.edu 678.839.6102 Undergraduate Field Placements, Handbooks, NCATE candidate
files
Kaye Ferguson,
Department Assistant - Senior
kferguso@westga.edu 678.839.6101 Coordinate Criminal Background checks and other duties as assigned
Sponsored Operations and Assessment
Linda Haynes
lhaynes@westga.edu 678.839.6570 COE Sponsored Programs and Research, Assessment, Operations,
Carolyn Berry
Department Assistant - Intermediate
cberry@westga.edu 678.839.6105 Assistant to the Associate Dean, Classroom Set-up, Maintenance
Ed.D Program
Dr. Craig Mertler
Professor and Director
cmertler@westga.edu 678.839.6096 Program in School Improvement

 

Back to top

Department Chairs

Contact/Position

E-Mail

Phone

Major Responsibilities

Dr. Frank Butts,
Chair ELPS
fbutts@westga.edu 678.839.6193 Department of Educational Leadership and Professional Studies
Elizabeth Bennett,
Chair MIT
ebennett@westga.edu

678.839.6149

Department of Media and Instructional Technology
Donna Harkins,
Chair C&I
dharkins@westga.edu 678.839.6066 Department of Curriculum and Instruction
John Voneschenbach
Interim Chair SED/SLP
jonvone@westga.edu 678.839.6149 Department of Special Education and Speech- Language Pathology
Rebecca Stanard,
Interim Chair CEP
rstanard@westga.edu 678.839.6119 Department of Counseling and Educational Psychology
Deborah Jenkins,
Interim Chair HPE
djenkins@westga.edu 678.839.6570 Department of Physical Education and Recreation

 

Back to top

Evaluation Center

Contact/Position

E-Mail

Phone

Major Responsibilities

Dr. Roy Forbes,
Director
rforbes@westga.edu 678.839.5521 The Evaluation Center provides services intended to support program and policy development or improvement, formative and summative decision-making, internal and external accountability, determinations of program effectiveness, and organizational capacity building in the collection and appropriate use of data.
Kimberly Robinson,
Data Collections Coordinator (
kimr@westga.edu 678.839.5521

 

Back to top

Georgia Youth Science & Technology Center

Contact/Position

E-Mail

Phone

Major Responsibilities

Jaymee Herrington, Regional Coordinator,
Georgia Youth Science & Technology Center (GYSTC)
jherring@westga.edu 678.839.6147 The West GYSTC is one of thirteen regional centers located throughout the state of Georgia.  This center opened in 1993 and has served over half a million students and more than 100,0000 teachers.  It is the mission of the West GYSTC to make science, math and technology fun and exciting for both students and teachers.  Making science and technology a hands-on experience for elementary and middle-school teachers is a key focus point.  By getting teachers and students excited about science, the capabilities of our future workforce will benefit in the global market.

 

Back to top

Comprehensive Community Clinic

Contact/Position

E-Mail

Phone

Major Responsibilities

Akilah Heggs,
Director
aheggs@westga.edu 678.839.6166  
April Shooks
Staff Assistant
  678.839.6009  

Teaching Materials Center

Contact/Position

E-Mail

Phone

Major Responsibilities

      Curriculum (print/non-print) teaching materials checkout to students and faculty as well as testing materials
Sherry Walls,
Director Teaching Materials Center (TMC)
swalls@westga.edu 678.839.6574

 

Back to top

Technology Services

Contact/Position

E-Mail

Phone

Major Responsibilities

Matthew Clay,
Director of Education Technology
mclay@westga.edu 678.839.6010 Direct all technology services and support for the College
Matt Purcell,
PC Technical Support Specialist
mpurcell@westga.edu 678.839.6011 Mac Technical Support, Software Support
Chris Spruck,
Web Developer, Programmer
cspruck@westga.edu 678.839.6012 Internet and Intranet Support, Software Support
Justin Sellers,
Systems Administrator and Technical Support Specialist
jsellers@westga.edu 678.839.6013 Windows Network Administration and Support & PC Technical Support
Michael Winslett
Graphic/Web Designer, Mac Support
mwinslet@westga.edu 678.839.6074 Graphic design, Web Design, College Webmaster Audio/Visual and Multimedia support, Mac support

 

Back to top

Reading Clinic

Contact/Position

E-Mail

Phone

Major Responsibilities

Ronald Reigner,
Director Developmental & Diagnostic Reading Clinic
rreigner@westga.edu 678.839.6086 Clinical literacy evaluations for children and adults in the UWG region

 

Back to top

 

University of West Georgia | College of Education
1601 Maple Street, Carrollton, GA 30118 | (678)839-6570